Description and structure of the municipality

Iedzīvotāju skaits – 30 276 [Avots: PMLP, dati uz 01.01.2023.]

The municipality of Rezekne is located near the Latvian state and also the eastern border of the entire European Union with Russia and Belarus, which opens up a wide range of potential cooperation in all areas. Riga - Moscow, St Petersburg – Warsaw, as well as international highways of international significance in these same directions, which provide a convenient transit corridor status to the area.

The picturesque nature, cultural and natural objects are a good prerequisite for tourism development. The Latvian tourism companies are not only offered to rest on the waters, but also to familiarise themselves with cultural historical wealth, visit festivals and enjoy the specific culinary heritage of Latgale, feel the special magic of the Latgalian language and hospitality.

Rezekne municipality is one of the richest provinces in Latvia with cultural monuments. The National Register of Protected Cultural Monuments includes 264 cultural monuments in the municipality of Rezekne.

The municipality of Rēzekne may also be proud of intangible cultural values — artistic self-activities, masters, talented and non-prescriptive personalities.

The largest industrial enterprises are RSEZ SIA “Verems” in Valmiera parish, RSEZ SIA “LEAX Rezekne” in Ozolaine parish. IN the agricultural sphere, SIA “Sprudzeva M” is active in the parish of Griškanas, AS “Vilnius breeding and experimental station” (crop and livestock production, electricity generation and electricity trade, established Viļāni biogas cogeneration station), AS “animal testing station Latgale” (cropping and livestock farming, dairy farming, vegetables, horticulture, agricultural services, hunting, forestry, preparation of timber, research and experimentation in natural sciences and technical sciences), Agricultural service cooperative society “Viļāni” (wholesale trade services of dairy products, eggs, edible oils and fats).

Municipal structure of Rezekne municipality

  • The territory of the municipality of Rezekne shall have the following breakdown:
    • Dricanu Association:
      • Dricana civil parish;
      • Gaigalavas civil parish;
      • Kantnieku civil parish;
      • Nagu civil parish;
      • Ozolmuiža civil parish;
      • Rikavas civil parish;
      • Sakstagala civil parish;
      • Struzanu civil parish
    • Kaunatas association:
      • The parish of Chornajas;
      • The parish of Griškanas;
      • Kaunatas civil parish;
      • Makoņkalna civil parish;
      • The parish of Stolerova;
    • Nautre association:
      • Audrinu civil parish;
      • Berzgales civil parish;
      • Ilzeskalna civil parish;
      • Lendzu civil parish;
      • Nautrenes civil parish;
      • Veremu civil parish
    • Maltas association:
      • Feimanu civil parish;
      • Luznavas civil parish;
      • Maltas civil parish;
      • Ozolaine civil parish;
      • Pusas civil parish
      • Silmalas civil parish;
    • Vilanu association:
      • Deksares civil parish;
      • Sokolku civil parish;
      • Vilanu civil parish;
      • Viļānu pilsēta.
Click to Listen highlighted Text!